To know your dog is to know yourself…

For years I thought I wanted a Jack Russell Terrier. I would watch the show Fraiser, and long for my own little Eddie. My first day of work at Entertainment Weekly magazine, back in the ’90s, Eddie was on the cover. He was so adorable and photogenic; he even came to the office. I was sold. Just recently, my new favorite TV show, Damages, had a recurring role for a Jack Russell Terrier. So when my family decided that we wanted to include a dog into the fold, I thought with such a serious decision, I had to do my due diligence. Armed with the internet and access to knowledge at my fingertips, I took the time to research about the Jack Russell and their behavior, in-depth. My findings showed that this breed would not faire well with me, my children or our lifestyle. The Schnoodle, however was just right and the only choice for us.

As if someone met him personally, the description of a Kenny’s temperament found on www.dogbreedinfo.com was right on! Kenny is very loyal to his family, affectionate, extremely intelligent, easy to train, clever, friendly, fun-loving, and has plenty of personality! He is good with children, especially toddlers, and gets along fine with other dogs, so far lol! He is a great watchdog as he lets us know when someone is near, but he isn’t aggressive. To him a good game of fetch played in the house or a long walk, is perfectly fine with him. Ken is not a yappy dog in the sense of making noise for the sake of barking. He love car rides and has shown that he is a great companion dog who shows potential in obedience, agility and fly ball. He really is first and foremost a loyal and loving companion! Another reason I chose a Schnoodle was because my sister is very allergic to dogs and because both the Poodle and Schnauzer breeds do not shed, they are a perfect choice for allergy sufferers.

So I say all of this to say, do you really know your dog? I mean really. Did you take the time to find out if the breed you like is prone to illness, nice to kids, sheds, requires a lot of attention or were you only thinking about if it will look good in a Louis Vuitton carrier? Start here at www.dogbreedinfo.com and let me know what you find and then remember to also check to see if your chosen breed has a rescue shelter. Many times folks get the “jewelry” pet and then get bored with them or the training period got overwhelming. These dogs need you and deserve a loving home.

Until next time…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by kellena on November 8, 2010 at 5:31 AM

    Love the website..pawolroids..Missy..is that Nina’s dog?
    Ok..I read about breeds and the best breed for allergy suffers. Very informative thank you!
    Its interesting its less dander/ hypoallergenic because all dogs create dander and their saliva as well is what cause allergic reactions. One page mentioned just because one suggests a poodle for example I might get a reaction just not intense. Well I took the “test” and it said a schnoodle..!
    Also..a bichon frise, bedlington terrier ( they look like lambs) and of course the President’s doggie
    Portuguese Water dog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

